Intellectual Property Committee

2023-2024 Members

CHARGE To make policy recommendations to the executive vice president and provost dealing with patents, copyrights, and related mechanisms for the protection/exploitation of intellectual properties. Reports to: Commission on Research.

Chair - Senior Vice President and Chief Research and Innovation Officer or designee

Brandy Salmon Chair ex officio

Ex officio

Daniel Sui	Vice President and Chief Research and Innovation Officer	ex officio
Kay Heidbreder	University Legal Counsel	ex officio
Melinda West	Associate VP for Finance & University Controller	ex officio
Grant Brewer	President of VTIP	ex officio

An Administrative Leader Within the Office of the Vice President and Chief Research and Innovation Officer selected by the Vice President and Chief Research and Innovation Officer

Laurel Miner Office of Vice President for Research and Innovation 2025

Nine at-large members of the faculty-A/P faculty-staff (with patent and copyright experience) selected by the Senior Vice President and Chief Research and Innovation Officer in consultation with the Presidents of the Faculty, Staff, and A/P Faculty Senates (at least one must be an A/P Faculty member and at least one must be a staff employee)

Vacant	(Staff)	2026
Christy Cochrane	Office of Sponsored Programs (A/P Faculty)	2025
Vacant		2026
Feng Lin	Chemistry (Faculty)	2024
Mark Mondry	LAUNCH (A/P Faculty)	2024
Eric Burger	Commonwealth Cyber Initiative-Hub (Faculty)	2025
Andy Schaudt	VTTI (Faculty)	2024
Oumar Barry	Mechanical Engineering (Faculty)	2025
Vacant		2026

One graduate and professional student senator elected by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate

Vacant 2024

One undergraduate student senator elected by the Undergraduate Student Senate

Ishita Gupta Computer Science 2024