Climate Action, Sustainability, and Energy Committee 2023-2024 Members

CHARGE: To provide guidance to the university administration on implementation of the university's Climate Action Commitment and opportunities to enhance Virginia Tech's pursuit of environmental quality and social sustainability. The committee makes recommendations regarding the application of policies; infrastructural and operational changes; educational strategies and modifications; and other steps intended to foster broad engagement with the university's environmental goals. The committee oversees subcommittees that each carry out aspects of the committee's charge. Reports to: University Council Cabinet.

Mary-Ann Ibeziako	Chair	2024		
Ex Officio				
Bob Broyden Ken Miller Mary-Ann Ibeziako Liza Morris Emily Williams Vacant Carrie Cox	Vice President for Campus Planning, Infrastructure, & Facilities Vice President for Finance Assistant Vice President for Infrastructure & Sustainability Assistant Vice President Planning & University Architect Sustainability Manager, Dining Services, Housing, & Residence Life or designee Director, Climate Action, Sustainability, and Energy Senior Director of Transportation Services	ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio		
Four representatives from Campus Planning, Infrastructure, and Facilities selected by the Vice President for Campus Planning, Infrastructure, and Facilities				
Matt Stolte Teresa Sweeney Nam Nguyen Jamie King	Director of Engineering Operations Waste and Recycling Manager Senior Director, Electric Service/Utilities & Deputy to AVP Infrastructure Urban Forest Manager and University Arborist	2025 2025 2024 2026		
One representative from Virginia Tech Environmental Health & Safety Services selected by the Vice President for Auxiliary and Business Services				
Autumn Timpano	Environmental Health and Safety	2025		
Four faculty representatives elected by the Faculty Senate				
Joshua Clemons Zhou Fu Wesley Gwaltney Todd Schenk	Mathematics School of Neuroscience Agriculture Technology School of Public and International Affairs	2026 2025 2025 2024		

Chair - President will appoint annually from among members of the committee

Two A/P faculty representatives elected by the A/P Faculty Senate					
Erin Poff Annie Lawrence	ICTAS Mining and Minerals Engineering	2024 2025			
Two staff representatives	Two staff representatives elected by the Staff Senate				
Pat Donovan Diane Bonsall	School of Plant and Environmental Sciences Office of the VP for Finance	2025 2025			
One dean selected by the Council of College Deans					
Paul Winistorfer	Natural Resources and Environment	2024			
Two graduate student representatives elected by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate					
Benjamin Thomas Luke Goodman	Chemistry Planning, Governance, and Globalization	2024 2024			
Two undergraduate student representatives elected by the Undergraduate Student Senate					
Lane Robertson Nidhi Gangadharan	International Relations General Engineering	2024 2024			
One representative from the Provost's Office					
Leslie Stevens	Faculty Affairs	2025			
One representative from Student Affairs					
Izzy Largen	VT Engage	2024			
One representative from Student Engagement and Campus Life					
Kendra Paisley	Student Engagement and Campus Life	2026			
Two representatives from student organizations with an environmental focus (appointments provide by the committee chair)					
Katie Smith Cameron Hadley	Urban Regional Planning Environmental Policy and Planning	2024 2024			

Two representatives from frontline community groups (appointments provide by the committee chair) (one student and one employee)

Gia Ha	Civil Engineering	2024
Mae Hey	History Department	2025