Transportation and Parking Committee

Meeting Minutes

November 9, 2010

Present: Kathryn Dew (chair), Dennis Gehrt, Steve Mouras, Leslie O'Brien, Emily Satterwhite, Tom Wertalik

Absent: Elizabeth Diesel, Spencer Joslin, Aaron Maertins, David Russell, Wendell Flinchum, Richard McCoy, Marie Paretti

Guest: Debbie Freed

I. Call to order

K. Dew called to order the regular meeting of the Transportation and Parking Committee at 9:30 am on 11/9/2010 in Newman Library Board Room.

II. Approval of minutes from last meeting

The minutes of 21 October 2010 were approved with corrections to names of members present.

III. Old Business

- a) The committee discussed the resolution for revisiting the Parking Services/Athletics fee proposal (Memo from Jim Weaver, 2/18/99). Suggestions were made to modify two of the "Whereas" statements and add a third.
- b) S. Mouras reported that many aspects of Parking Services' budget have been examined in FY11 and some expenses were moved to other university areas.
- c) D. Freed was present to address the issue of bike dismount zones. There was discussion about adding dismount zones in busy areas during class changes. This issue was deferred until the December meeting to allow W. Flinchum to address police enforcement of dismount zones.

IV. New business

a) E. Satterwhite reported that Faculty Senate wants the committee to investigate automatic renewal of permits. Many universities automatically renew faculty/staff permits until the employee requests termination of the permit. S. Mouras noted that he believes the Controllers Office requires annual permission for payroll deductions to be made, and offered to verify that fact.

V. Adjournment

K. Dew adjourned the meeting at 10:30 am.

Minutes submitted by: Leslie O'Brien