Commission on Student Affairs

Thursday, April 11th, 2013 3:30-5:00 p.m.

Brush Mountain Room – Squires Student Center

Present: Shaimaa Abdallah, Marwa Abdullatif, Chris Atkins, Cathye Betzel, Tyler Campbell, Dustin Dorph, Jessica Estariz, Monika Gibson, Kylie Gilbert, Michael Goodwin, Jacob Grohs, Lauren Heming, Robyn Jones, Cole Freeman for Corps of Cadets, Nick Onopa, Patty Perillo, Ethan Poole for Caroline Sapyta, Robert Sebek, Jason Berube for Jay Tucker

Absent: Claire Childress (with notice), Erlan Guzman, Mary Ann Lewis (with notice), Kristen McCall, Margaret McQuain, Ryan Smith

Guests: Nick Warrington, Brent Ashley, Ethan Poole, Guy Sims, Jordan Disney, Monica Hunter, Lester Schoenberger, Jaime Joslin, Kristen Houston

I. Call to Order

Mr. Atkins called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m.

II. Old Business

a. SGA Constitution Changes Dustin Dorph and Lester Schoenberger Mr. Schoenberger presented the 2nd reading of the CSA Constitution changes, explaining that this no longer has to go before University Council. CSA is the last approval. Mr. Dorph made a motion to approve the changes, seconded by Nick Onopa. At this time Dr. Perillo brought forth a question regarding Article X in the current constitution that relates to the voting process, which is not included in the proposed constitution. Following a lengthy discussion the question was called and the motion carried. Mr. Schoenberger expressed his appreciation for the feedback and noted that this is a conversation that will be had with the new SGA officers.

At this point Mr. Atkins entertained a motion to suspend rules to move to the Student Budget Board agenda item under new business. The motion was seconded by Mr. Onopa and themotion carried.

b. CSA Appointment Positions Chris Atkins
Mr. Atkins presented the nominees for the position for CSA Chair noting that Caroline
Sapyta and Erica Wood did not accept the nomination, which left Kylie Kilbert and
Jay Tucker. Nominations were then called from the floor which led to a discussion
regarding who is actually eligible to be nominated. Following the discussion Dustin Dorph
and Brent Ashley were nominated from the floor. Each nominee was asked to give a brief
presentation. Jason Berube read the presentation for Jay Tucker in his absence. Following
the presentations, Tyler Campbell made a motion to vote, seconded by Michael Goodwin.
After two votes (the first vote ended in a tie), Ms. Kylie Gilbert was elected Chair.

III. New Business

a. Student Budget Board Michael Goodwin Michael Goodwin and Monica Hunter presented on Budget Board funding strategies for 2013-14, funding cut strategies, and the appeal process. Because an appeal committee would be needed in the event that they are any appeals, Mr. Goodwin asked for volunteers from the commission to serve on such a committee. Those who volunteered are: John Sebak, Kylie Gilbert, Lauren Hemming, Tyler Campbell and Nick Onopa.

Following further discussion and questions, Mr. Goodwin moved for approval of the funding cut strategies, seconded by Robyn Jones. The motion carried.

Mr. Goodwin presented revisions to the Eligibility Requirements to Request Funding to the Commission. The second reading will be presented at the April 25 meeting.

IV. Adjournment - The meeting was adjourned at 5:20 p.m.