## Minutes Commission on Faculty Affairs April 30, 2021 10:30 am – 12:00 pm Videoconference

(These minutes were approved electronically and submitted to University Council on May 7, 2021)

**Present**: B. Hicok (presiding), S. Barrett (Faculty Senate), R. Blythe (Dean), A. Bond (CAPFA), J. Finney (Provost, ex officio), D. Givens (Dean), J. Hawdon (Faculty Senate), T. Schenk (Faculty Senate), C. Thompson (Graduate Student Assembly), R. Weiss (Faculty Senate)

Vacancy: Staff Senate

**Not in Attendance**: M. Abbas (Faculty Senate), Chris Boyd (SGA), D. C. Myers (Faculty Senate), A. Nelson (Faculty Senate), A. Shew (Faculty Senate),

**Guests**: E. Lavender-Smith, (Faculty Senate), D. Musick (VTCSOM), A. Myers (Governance), E. Plummer (Provost's Office), Robin Queen (Faculty Senate)

B. Hicok called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. A quorum was present (50%+1 of current membership = 8)

- **1. Approval of Agenda.** Members of the commission moved and voted unanimously to adopt the agenda.
- **2. Approval of Minutes.** Members of the commission moved and voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the April 2, 2021 meeting.
- 3. Review of Policy 6100: Department Head or Chair Appointments. The commission reviewed the policy and provided comments. Discussion included the policy's language associated with leaves, the use of terms evaluation and periodic review, the availability of evaluation results to college faculty. The suggested revisions to the policy will be shared with the provost for his review and approval.
- **4. Other business.** Commission members thanked members who are rotating off the commission or leaving: Bob Hicok, Cayce Myers, Monty Abbas, and Jim Hawdon. Sarah Barrett is leaving the university. Commission members extended a special thank you to Bob Hicok for serving as chair of the commission for three years.
- 5. Adjourn. The commission adjourned at 11:30.