Minutes Commission on Faculty Affairs April 2, 2021 10:30 am – 12:00 pm Videoconference

Present: B. Hicok (presiding), M. Abbas (Faculty Senate), S. Barrett (Faculty Senate), A. Bond (CAPFA), J. Finney (Provost, ex officio), D. Givens (Dean), J. Hawdon (Faculty Senate), A. Nelson (Faculty Senate), T. Schenk (Faculty Senate), C. Thompson (Graduate Student Assembly), R. Weiss (Faculty Senate)

Vacancy: Staff Senate

Not in Attendance: R. Blythe (Dean), Chris Boyd (SGA), D. C. Myers (Faculty Senate), A. Shew (Faculty Senate),

Guests: L. Miner (OVPRI), D. Musick (VTCSOM), A. Myers (Governance), E. Plummer (Provost's Office), Robin Queen (Faculty Senate)

B. Hicok called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. A quorum was present (50%+1 of current membership = 8)

- **1. Approval of Agenda.** Members of the commission moved and voted unanimously to adopt the agenda.
- **2.** Approval of Minutes. Members of the commission moved and voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the March 19, 2021 meeting.
- 3. Review of Policy 6105: Periodic Evaluation of Academic Deans and Vice Presidents. Commission members discussed the policy and suggested improvements. Commission members discussed the need for clear communication regarding the role of the college association in selection of members of review committees. Commission members discussed the challenges associated with balancing transparency and disclosure of performance assessments.
- **4. Other business.** There was no further business for consideration by the commission.
- 5. Adjourn. The commission adjourned at 11:30.

Next meeting: April 16, 2021 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.