# University Council Minutes October 7, 2024 3:30 PM Zoom

**Present:** Cyril Clarke (presiding), April Myers, Amy Sebring, Laurel Miner for Daniel Sui, Bryan Garey, Frances Keene, Kim O'Rourke, Guru Ghosh, Aimée Surprenant, Rachel Holloway, Mike Gutter for Alan Grant, Daniel Givens, Tsai Lu Liu, Kevin Pitts, Julia Ross, Saonee Sarker, Amanda Morris, Natalia Guerrero, Justin Lemkul, Janice Austin, Marlena Lester, Enrique Noyola, LaTawnya Burleson, Callan Bartel, Kari Evans, Kiera Schneiderman, Aarav Parikh, Alex Efird, Ronnie Mondal, Riley DeHority, William Poland, Gary Long, Nicole Pitterson, Jason Malone, Rodney Gaines, Kim Loeffert, Jim Hawdon for Rebecca Hester, Renée LeClair, Judy Alford for Holli Gardner Drewry, Serena Young, Amber Robinson, Sally Shupe, Kelly Oaks, Larry Cox, Francisco Carvallo, Rachel Maizel, Jim Tokuhisa, & Donna Westfall-Rudd

Absent with notice: Tim Sands, Rachel Miles, & Evan Lavender-Smith

**Absent:** Menah Pratt, Laura Belmonte, Lee Learman, Tyler Walters, Paul Knox, Leslie Orellana, & Ranald Adams

**Guests**: James Bridgeforth, Rachele Gabriele, Amy Hagan, Kyle Johnson, Monique Logan, Tasia Persson, Lori Rose, Rick Sparks, Demetria Somervell, Michael Stowe, Debbie Greer, & Lauren Surface

Dr. Cyril Clarke called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. A quorum was present.

## 1. Adoption of Agenda

The agenda was put forward by University Council Cabinet based on materials submitted to the Secretary of University Council and distributed prior to the meeting.

## 2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of September 16, 2024

Dr. Clarke noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (http://www.governance.vt.edu).

#### 3. Unfinished Business

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs Resolution CSPA 2024-25A Resolution to Form a Task Force to Review Compensation for Staff and Non-Student Wage Employees

Callan Bartel presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

## 4. Announcement of Approval and Posting of UC Cabinet, Commission, and Committee Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on minutes of the University Council Cabinet, Commissions, and Committees reporting to University Council Cabinet is to accept them for filing. University Council Bylaws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

 University Council Cabinet September 9, 2024

- Commission on Faculty Affairs September 6, 2024
- Commission on Graduate and Professional Studies and Policies September 4, 2024
- Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs August 27, 2024
- Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies September 9, 2024
- Budgeting and Planning Committee September 13, 2024
- Transportation and Parking Committee September 10, 2024

# 5. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:43 p.m.

# University Council Votes October 7, 2024

		Do you approve CSPA
First name	Last name	Resolution 2024-25A?
Judy	Alford	Yes
Janice	Austin	Yes
Callan	Bartel	Yes
LaTawnya	Burleson	Yes
Francisco	Carvallo	Yes
LA	Cox II	Yes
Riley	DeHority	Yes
Alexander	Efird	Yes
Kari	Evans	Yes
Rodney	Gaines	Yes
Bryan	Garey	No
Guru	Ghosh	Yes
Dan	Givens	Yes
Mike	Gutter	Yes
James	Hawdon	Yes
Piedad	Henao Gue	
Rachel	Holloway	Yes
Frances	Keene	Yes
Justin	Lemkul	Yes
Lu	Liu	Yes
Kimberly	Loeffert	Yes
Gary	Long	Yes
Marlena	McGlothlin	
Laurel	Miner	Yes
Ronnie	Mondal	Yes
Amanda	Morris	Yes
Enrique	Noyola	Yes
Kim	O'Rourke	Yes
Aarav	Parikh	Yes
Nicole	Pitterson	Yes
Kevin	Pitts	Yes
William	Poland	Yes
Amber	Robinson	Yes
Julia	Ross	Yes
Saonee	Sarker	Yes
Kiera	Schneidern	
		Yes
Sally Aimee	Shupe	
Paul	Surprenant Winistorfer	
Serena	Young	Yes