# Commission on University Support Meeting Minutes September 17, 2009 Burruss Hall, Room 325

## Present:

**Members:** Leslie O'Brien, Chair, Michelle McLeese, Guy Sims, Bradley Scott, Michael Evans, Daniel Wubah, Richard Stratton, Debra Stoudt (for Sue Ott Rowlands), Jim Tokuhisa, James D. "Sean" Arthur, Mike Coleman, Angela Hayes (for Betsy Flanagan), Pat Rodgers (for Erv Blythe), Tom Tillar, Brandon Carroll

**Recorder:** Linda Woodard, Administrative Services

#### 1. Approval of agenda

Leslie O'Brien called the meeting to order at approximately 2:00 pm. The Agenda was approved.

#### 2. Announcement of approval of March 19, 2009 minutes

Electronic approval of minutes was announced.

#### 3. <u>New Business</u>

Following introductions of Commission members, Leslie O'Brien, chair of the commission, reviewed the Commission charge and the four committees that report to the Commission.

Leslie provided background on the inactive status of the Computing and Communications Resources Committee, and handed out the charge and membership list for this committee. Approximately two years ago Erv Blythe, Vice President for Information Technology, brought a proposal for a different structure to the commission. No action was taken by the Commission on the proposal. At the Commission chairs meeting in August 2009, President Steger said that the Commission should determine how to address the matter of the Committee. Any action taken (permanently disbanding the Commission on University Support. Pat Rodgers indicated that Information Technology formed five advisory councils (network infrastructure and services, learning technologies, administrative systems, research computing, secure enterprise technology initiatives). These advisory committees have been active for approximately 18 months, and meet every 3 to 6 months. It was suggested that Erv Blythe be invited to meet with the Commission to present his proposal again or discuss other outcomes.

The next order of business was the Election of Vice-Chair, who would serve as chair next year, and attend University Council meetings in the absence of the Chair. The Chair is elected from the non-ex officio members. The Vice Chair should be elected before the end of October. Commission members were asked to submit nominations to Leslie before the October meeting.

A faculty representative for the Transportation and Parking Committee is needed. Leslie proposed that a member of the Commission could alternate attendance if no one is able to volunteer for the full year.

# 4. <u>Reports from Committee Chairs</u>

Mike Coleman, Associate Vice President for Facilities, reported on the Building and Energy and Sustainability Committees. The Building Committee focused on several issues, including ADA and

accessibility, primarily the exterior campus. There was also considerable discussion of the university's six year capital plan, including master planning as a whole, and the long term plans for the Prices Fork lot. There was an interest in enhancing the communications process regarding capital activity, and it is expected that this issue will be discussed further during the current academic year.

Energy and Sustainability – The development and approval of the Climate Action Commitment was the primary focus of the VT Climate Action Commitment and Sustainability Plan (VTCAC&SP) Sub-Committee. The sub-committee produced a comprehensive report and made presentations to the Commission, administrators, and campus groups. The Campus Energy and Water Policy 5505 was also revised.

Transportation and Parking – Pat Rogers reported that the committee discussed alternative parking areas for resident students, including the consideration of an option to cap the number of freshmen permits. A resolution was drafted at the end of spring semester 2009, but has not been brought forward to the Commission for consideration. Brandon Carroll, SGA representative, is part of a student group – the Freshmen Car Research Committee, which is studying the impact of a potential cap on freshmen permits.

## 5. <u>Acceptance of Committee Minutes</u>

The committee received the minutes electronically and accepted for filing.

## 6. New business proposals for next meeting

Leslie requested any proposals for new business for the next meeting. Two items were identified for future consideration.

- 1. Explore the option to allow a staff member serve as the Commission representative to the Transportation and Parking Committee, rather than limiting this to faculty.
- 2. Explore having staggered faculty terms on the Commission, rather than all terms expiring in the same year. The Staff Senate representatives have staggered terms. Leslie has spoken with the President's Office about a process for staggering the faculty terms and will report back to the Commission.

The next meeting will be October 15.

Motion to adjourn made by Michelle McLeese, seconded, and accepted. Meeting adjourned at 2:35 pm.