Resolution to Update Membership of the University Curriculum Committee for Liberal Education Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies Resolution 2009-10 C

Approved by Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies:	April 12, 2010
Presented for approval to the University Council, First Reading:	April 19, 2010
Approved by University Council:	May 3, 2010
Approved by the President:	May 3, 2010
Effective Date:	Upon Approval

WHEREAS, the 2006-2012 Strategic Plan Update, adopted by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors in June 2006, reaffirms Virginia Tech's commitment to strengthen all aspects of the undergraduate academic experience by integrating learning across the entire curriculum; and

WHEREAS, one of the goals in restructuring the undergraduate curriculum is to support the university's commitment to continuous improvement by assessing student learning outcomes; and

WHEREAS, the University Libraries will broaden and deepen Virginia Tech's learning, discovery, and engagement activities through the integration of pedagogy, learning-space design, technology, support, and policies to enable successful learning;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Director of Academic Assessment or designee will be added to the committee membership,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that an AP Faculty representative from the University Libraries (threeyear term) will be added to the membership,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the University Council bylaws be revised to reflect the complete membership of the UCCLE, each member having full voting privileges, is as follows:

- Senior Vice President and Provost or a designee
- Director of Academic Assessment or a designee
- One Division of Student Affairs representative selected by the Vice President for Student Affairs (three-year term)
- Two faculty members selected by the Senior Vice President & Provost (three-year terms)
- One faculty representative selected by each undergraduate college curriculum committee (three-year term)
- Two faculty representatives nominated by Faculty Senate (three-year terms)
- One AP faculty representative from the University Libraries elected by the Library Faculty Association (three-year term)
- One faculty representative from the Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies (CUSP) (one-year term)
- Two representatives from the Student Government Association nominated by the Student Government Association (one-year term)