Resolution to Change Membership to the Commission on Research Commission on Research COR Resolution 2013-14A

Approved by the Commission on Research: First Reading by the University Council: Second Reading by the University Council: Approved by the President: Effective Date: March 19, 2014 April 7, 2014 April 21, 2014 April 21, 2014 Upon Approval

Whereas, The Commission on Research (COR) exists to represent the issues and concerns associated with the research mission of the university; and

Whereas, persons working in research faculty appointments as defined in the Virginia Tech Faculty Handbook play an increasingly substantive role in promoting and expediting university research activities; and

Whereas, these employees are not currently formally represented in university governance; and

Whereas, the Final Report of the University Task Force on Special Research Faculty, issued in June 2011, identified the COR as the most appropriate commission for participation by persons in research faculty appointments; and

Whereas, adding one person in the Postdoctoral Associate rank as a voting member to the COR and adding two voting members to the COR from the remaining research faculty ranks would ensure participation of research faculty in governance.

Therefore, be it resolved, that the Bylaws of the University Council be changed to reflect this addition of three representatives to the COR:

F. Commission on Research

Membership*:

- Vice President for Research
- One Representative from the Office of the Vice President for Outreach and International Affairs
- Associate Vice President for Research Programs
- One academic dean selected by the Council of College Deans
- One department- or division-level administrative representative appointed by the President
- One representative of research-related interdisciplinary programs, groups or centers appointed by the President
- Two Faculty Senators elected by the Faculty Senate
- One faculty representative from each of the academic colleges elected by the faculty in each of the colleges
- One representative from the Library Faculty Association elected by the Library Faculty Association
- One non-ex officio A/P faculty representative elected by CAPFA from: general administration, academic support, student affairs, extension
- One representative in the Postdoctoral Associate rank elected by persons in that rank **

- Two representatives working in research faculty appointments as defined in the Virginia Tech Faculty Handbook (excluding Postdoctoral Associates) elected by persons in those ranks **
- One Staff Senator elected by the Staff Senate
- One representative of the Graduate Student Assembly elected by the Graduate Student Assembly
- One representative of the Student Government Association elected by the Student Government Association

*The chair will be elected from among the non-administrative faculty and staff members of the commission by the commission membership.

**The nomination and election process for these positions will be conducted by the Office of Research, which will report election results to the President.

And, further be it resolved, that the Postdoctoral Associate representative be seated in 3-year terms starting in the 2014-2015 academic year, that the representatives from the remaining research faculty ranks be seated for 3-year terms with the first joining the commission starting in the 2014-2015 academic year and the second joining the commission starting in the 2015-2016 academic year. These staggered terms will help to assure greater continuity of representation.