## Resolution for Change in Membership of the Intellectual Property Committee (Change to the University Council Bylaws) Commission on Research Resolution 2008-2009 A

Approved by Commission on Research First Reading to the University Council Approved by the University Council Approved by the President Effective Date 8 October 2008 November 17, 2008 February 2, 2009 February 2, 2009 Upon approval

**Whereas**, the membership of the Intellectual Property Committee is defined in the University Council Bylaws and the membership list includes key university administrators with related responsibilities; and

Whereas, the University Council constitution calls for automatically updating membership of commissions and committee to reflect changing administrative titles;

**Whereas,** the evolving separation of duties between management of the Virginia Tech Foundation and the university suggests that the University Controller is the more appropriate official to serve on this committee rather than a foundation employee;

**Therefore Let It Be Resolved** that the membership of the Intellectual Property Committee contained in the University Council Bylaws be revised to reflect the following changes in titles and positions:

Current:	"Associate Vice President for Research and Interdisciplinary Studies"
Proposed:	"Associate Vice President for Research Programs"
Current:	"Assistant Vice President and Controller, Virginia Tech Foundation, Inc."
Proposed:	"The University Controller"
Current:	" <u>The Executive Vice President of VTIP</u> "
Proposed:	"The President of Virginia Tech Intellectual Properties, Inc. (VTIP)"

**Current**: "Nine at-large members of the faculty-A/P faculty-staff (with patent and copyright experience) nominated by the <u>Associate Vice President for Research</u> in conjunction with the Presidents of the Faculty and Staff Senates and the chair of the Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs (three-year term) (one must be an A/P faculty member and one must be a staff employee)"

**Proposed**: Nine at-large members of the faculty-A/P faculty-staff (with patent and copyright experience) nominated by the <u>Associate Vice President for Research Programs</u> in conjunction with the Presidents of the Faculty and Staff Senates and the chair of the Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs (three-year term) (one must be an A/P faculty member and one must be a staff employee)

[Membership of the committee also includes the "University Legal Counsel (or designee)"; no change is proposed to this designation.]